Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksCulture-of-Safety

VicTas Website > UCA Resources > Culture of Safety

​Culture of Safety​​​​​​



Welcome to the Culture of Safety Unit


The Culture of Safety Unit is charged with developing 'the culture and processes to ensure that the Uniting Church Synod of Victoria and Tasmania is a safe place for all.'

The Culture of Safety Unit is made up of three staff persons.

Sue Clarkson, Ethical Standards Officer

Sue is a minister of the word who has worked for the church in a wide variety of roles. She works three days a week - Tuesday and Thursday in the office and from home on the other days and is contactable then via email and mobile phone.

e: or  wk: (03) 9251 5912 or mob: 0437 072 231

Sue is responsible for 

  • Code of Ethics Training and advice about breaches of the Code of Ethics 
  • Ministry Supervision Standards 
  • Contact person for breaches which are of a sexual nature 
  • Convenor of Advisers for the Synod Sexual Misconduct Complaints Committee 
  • Child sexual assault case management (current and historical) 
  • Training in UCA Regulations as required 

Josh Tuhipa-Turner, Safe Church Educator

Josh is a social worker who has worked in the areas of child protection, restorative justice with young offenders and training. He works Tuesday - Thursday.

e:   or (03) 9251 5288

Josh is responsible for

  • Safe Church Training and Culture of Safety Training for implementation of safe church policies 
  • Synod's Safe Church Recognition Program
  • Safe church policy development 
  • Advice about the protection of children and vulnerable adults 
  • Advice about implementing the new safe church policies.

Victoria McDonough, Program manager – Child Safe Implementation

Victoria is a social worker who has experience in child protection and child safeguards in Australia and internationally.  She works full time.

e:   or (03) 9251 5270

Victoria is responsible for

  • Coordinating the implementation of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse recommendations
  • Coordinating the implementation of state based child safety initiatives including the Victorian Child Safe Standards
  • Supporting the implementation of the Keeping Children Safe Policy

Contact Us 

The Culture of Safety Unit is located at Uniting Church Synod of Victoria and Tasmania, 130 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, VIC, 3000. 

The Culture of Safety Steering Group was established by the Synod Standing Committee in February 2011. Our Steering Group includes colleagues from the Bethel Pastoral Centre , Congregational Ministry, Cross-Cultural Mission and Ministry, Centre for Theology & Ministry, People and Culture (HR), Occupational Health and Safety, and the Synod Sexual Misconduct Complaints Committee.

Training Dates